Not Feeling Well

Poor little guy isn’t feeling well. The last week has gotten worse and worse. He cries more and sleeps less. At this point, the longest he ever has a nap is 25-30 minutes. Its hard on me, since he wants to be held constantly, but I know he needs more sleep. He is not getting that deep sleep that he requires.

We switched his formula to Similac Alimentum, after talking with my sister and my cousin. Both of them had a child who was allergic to milk protein and so they needed the special formula. Little guy had a lot of trouble drinking it and would only have 1 to 1 1/2 ounces in a feeding (normally he would eat 3 to 4 ounces). He would scream and arch his back. The worst though was when he had been screaming for awhile but then his cries softened, he looked up at me with a rip your heart out frown, and gave this little cry that seemed to say “I give up. I’m not going to get what I want.” It made me so sad.

After a night of waking every 1 1/2 to 2 hours, we got up for the day about 6:30 and he continued to cry and cry. He calmed when I changed his diaper, but by that point I was bawling. Little guy was safe and calm so I went in to my husband, who was finishing getting ready for work, and cried out “I need a hug.” He took me in his arms and squeezed me tight while I sobbed.  Luckily, my mom was coming to help for the day, so hubs stayed until she got there.

I called the doctor and we took him in to make sure there wasn’t anything wrong and to figure out what to do. She was wonderful in calming us and giving us information. She said it sounds like he has a milk allergy so to continue on the special (super expensive) formula. She also switched little guys reflux medication, since he seems to have outgrown his lower dosage. And of course he was calm the entire time we were at the doctors office.

The rest of the day was hard and the next few, slightly easier, but miracle of miracles, he slept better throughout the night, waking only at 1:50 and then 6:30. Getting a little more sleep on my part made everything more doable.

A tired baby who just doesn’t feel well is exhausting and so sad to see. All you want, as his mother, is to provide what he needs and make him happy. Then, he is so sad and it feels like you are failing. But remember that you are NOT. You are loving and cuddling him and doing your best to figure out the problem. Keep holding him and trying. It will get better.

Leave a Reply

